At AUP I completed a double-major in International Economics and International Business Administration. After working for three years in a variety of sales and marketing jobs, I enrolled in the accelerated (one-year) MBA program at Emory University, graduating in 2006. From my AUP days I will always remember the words of my favorite English teacher, Roy Rosenstein, who told me, ” Sasha, I remember when you came to us at AUP, you had so much to say but you could say so little….” I would like to believe that the Comparative Literature Program at AUP helped me become much more eloquent and assertive in both my oral and written English skills, while providing me with much joy reading and analyzing the work of some great authors.

After completing my MBA at Emory University and working in Washington, DC, for the real estate consulting company Robert Charles Lesser, I took a position as an investment manager for a joint venture between a Bulgarian investment fund and the Sovereign Wealth Fund of Oman, working on developing real estate projects in Eastern Europe. In 2009 I moved to Toronto to join Sunbelt Business Brokers, an intermediary specializing in facilitating the purchasing and selling of small to mid-size private enterprises. In the summer of 2010 with a business partner I started our own company, Beacon Brokerage (www.beaconbrokerage.ca), building on our experience and focusing on main street market transactions.

