I graduated from AUP with a degree in Comparative Literature and European Cultural Studies & Philosophy in 2002. Since then, I have earned a PhD in Comparative Literature from the Humanities Center at Johns Hopkins. As part of my course of study there, I completed a Master’s degree in German and worked intensively on the philosophy of time and the European Enlightenment. In recent years, I have engaged more and more with the study of religion, and these various interests came together in my dissertation, The Conversion of Knowledge—Religion and Enlightenment in Eighteenth-Century Catechisms, parts of which are due out in print this year. My next project, a series of readings of secular catechisms, will take these concerns a step further to examine narrative interrogations of the conditions of (moral or political) action in Kleist, Comte, Engels, Joyce, al-Sistani and others.

Over the past five years, I have also taught across a variety of fields including literature, philosophy, gender and sexuality studies, Jewish studies, and expository writing. In my current course, The Poetics and Politics of Sexuality, I draw on the interdisciplinary training I received at AUP not only in spirit, but also in practice. Many of the texts we discuss in this course I first read at AUP, in Prof. Pelen’s European Arts of Love, Prof. Pevear’s Dostoevsky and the 19th-Century Novel, Prof. Beardsworth’s 18th-Century Philosophy and Literature and during my Senior Thesis project with Prof. Gilbert.

In addition, I have translated numerous articles from and into German as well as from French; my translation of Lambert Wiesing’s Artificial Presence, a series of phenomenological studies in image theory, came out with Stanford University Press last year, and I’m currently working on a translation of François Delaporte’s Figures de la médecine, which assembles essays on the history and philosophy of medicine, for Fordham University Press.

